The Nationales Performance Netz

The NATIONALES PERFORMANCE NETZ is a support program for the exchange and distribution of contemporary dance or theater productions in Germany. It supports independent theaters, private theaters, city and state theaters, festivals and other cultural institutions and companies who work as presenters and would like to invite dance or theater productions from a different German federal state. 

Support for guest performances

In 1999, NPN Guest Performance Fund for Dance was introduced by six German dance presenters: Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin; JOINT ADVENTURES, Munich; Kampnagel Internationale Kulturfabrik, Hamburg; Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Frankfurt am Main; Theater im Pfalzbau, Ludwigshafen; and tanzhaus nrw, Düsseldorf. Since then, the objective of this support initiative has been to present dance productions and make them accessible to a wide audience in Germany. In 2009, NPN Guest Performance Fund for Theater was established according to the Guest Performance Fund for Dance model.

The NATIONALES PERFORMANCE NETZ can support programmers from public venues with 25% of the guest performance costs; private venues receive up to 35%. Impulse support programs are granted to a different federal state every year. In the context of impulse support, presenters from the selected states, but also those from other states, can invite the artists or groups from the selected federal state to a guest performance and receive up to 50% of the guest performance costs.

Initiative for Internationalization

Since 2013, the German Bundestag's Budget Committee provides funds that ensure continuity in artistic work and a greater international presence for German dance. It was thus possible to continue the NPN Coproduction Fund for Dance, and to initiate the NPN International Guest Performance Fund for Dance as a new support model.

Public Support

The NATIONALES PERFORMANCE NETZ is kindly supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, by 14 Departments of Culture and Arts of the German federal state: Baden-Württemberg, Bayern, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Hessen, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein (only Theater) and Thüringen.