depARTures
Unique dance and performance from Québec/Canada

With the series depARTures, JOINT ADVENTURES presents choreographic works from specific countries or regions every year as part of ACCESS TO DANCE and with the support of varying cultural institutes building bridges to other art forms and thus expanding the possibilities of dance and performance.
 
This fall, works by important artists of the Québec/Canada dance scene are invited to present their work to the Munich audience. The selected artists are not only important in Québec and Canada. In their artistic approaches, they are at the forefront of artistic development in contemporary dance worldwide, each defining a unique, individual choreographic way of working.

This project is part of Canada’s cultural program as Guest of Honour at the Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020/2021 with the support of the Embassy of Canada, the Québec Representation and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Artist
Talks

The performances were followed by talks with the artists. For all those who were not able to attend, we made them available online on YoutTube!

More
 

Louise Lecavalier
“Stations”

October 7 & 8, 2020
Carl-Orff-Saal

The Canadian dance icon Louise Lecavalier was an internationally celebrated star in Edouard Lock's dance company LaLaLa Human Steps for two decades. With her unique dance technique, the platinum blonde rebel from Montréal is one of the most brilliant contemporary dancers of our time. In her latest work “Stations”, a vital impulse thrusts her back into the arena, like always with body and soul. One moment introverted, the next moment like possessed, animalistic or fluid – her body reaches for ever new states, as if they were the source to survive.

Daniel Léveillé
“Solitudes Solo”

October 13 & 14, 2020
Muffathalle

Daniel Léveillé has been one of the most important representatives of the Canadian dance scene for forty years. Typical for his work is a radically physical minimalism – dance as if drawn with a scalpel into empty space. “Solitudes Solo” marks a turning point within his work: Each part offers a sequence that is in essence questioning the power of discontinuity. while moving between sweeping and precise gestures, and receptions accomplished at the limits of disequilibrium, the dancers must each show how their dance favours immobility over time. Each dancer in his or her performance exposes a particular figure of ourselves, a temporal moment in a life tending toward unity and beauty, while knowing it can only reach such heights at the risk of breaking and falling.

Mélanie Demers
“Icône Pop”

October 16 & 17, 2020
Schwere Reiter

Which saint should one pray to? “Icône Pop” incarnates the ambivalence of a society that has lost its bearings, that sanctifies self-glorification. A playful clash between religious and pop icons, from Beyoncé to the Virgin Mary.

Daina Ashbee
“Serpentine”

October 19 & 21, 2020
HochX

“Serpentine” ivibrates the essence of Daina Ashbee’s dark and feminine pieces and is intended as an intense summary of her previous three works, “Unrelated” (2014), “When the ice melts, will we drink the water?” (2016) and “Pour” (2016). The research explored the occupation of space/time/attention in what became a cathartic solo for Areli Moran (Mexico) based in repetition and insistence accompanied by an original electric organ composition by Jean-Francois Blouin. Sometimes things need to be insisted upon, and I believe repetition is powerful because it insists, because we remember and we absorb. The body is powerful and Serpentine allows one body to speak - to occupy space – and our attention, over and over, insistently revealing the enormous strength of the interpreter.

Van Grimde Corps Secrets
“Eve 2050”

November 5 & 6, 2020
Installation 19.00 – 23.00 h
Performance 20.30 h
November 7, 2020
Installation 14.00 – 23.00 h
Performance 20.30 & 21.30 h
November 8, 2020
Installation 11.00 – 18.00 h
Muffathalle

How will the boundaries of the body and its identity be redefined in the near future? With her interactive digital installation Eve 2050, Isabelle Van Grimde and her company Van Grimde Corps Secrets invites the audience to engage in an artistic reflection on the future of man and body in an age of digital technology, biomedical advances and artificial intelligence.

Organizer: Muffatwerk as part of ACCESS TO DANCE

MEHR

 

Accessibility

If not otherwise indicated, all venues have wheelchair access, i.e. the entrance is at ground level or accessible via an elevator. Please note that some locations in the programme are not accessible to wheelchair users.

Carl-Orff-Saal

Im Gasteig
Rosenheimer Straße 5

S-Bahn all lines Rosenheimer Platz
Tram 15, 25 Rosenheimer Platz
Tram 17 Am Gasteig

Muffathalle

Zellstraße 4
81667 München

S-Bahn alle Linien Rosenheimer Platz, Isartor
Bus 132 Isartor / Zweibrückenstraße
Tram 17 Isartor, Deutsches Museum
Tram 25 Rosenheimer Platz

 

HochX

Entenbachstraße 37
81541 München

U-Bahn U1, U2, U7, U8 Kolumbusplatz
Bus 132 Fraunhoferstraße

 

Schwere Reiter

Dachauer Straße 114
80636 München

Bus 53 Leonrodplatz
Nachtbus 43, 44 Leonrodplatz
Tram 20, 21 Leonrodplatz

depARTures
Unique dance and performance from Québec/Canada

In den vergangenen beiden Jahren präsentierte JOINT ADVENTURES – Walter Heun im Rahmen seiner internationalen Gastspielsaison ACCESS TO DANCE unter dem Titel depARTures Gastspielreihen zu bestimmten Länderschwerpunkten, u.a. mit Arbeiten aus Katalonien und den Niederlanden. In diesem Herbst sind Arbeiten wichtiger Künstler*innen der Tanzszene Québecs nach München eingeladen, um ihre Arbeiten dem Münchner Publikum zu präsentieren.

Die ausgewählten Künstler*innen sind nicht nur in Québec von Bedeutung. In ihren choreografischen Ansätzen an der Schnittstellen zu anderen Disziplinen stehen sie teilweise an vorderster Front der künstlerischen Entwicklung im zeitgenössischen Tanz weltweit und definieren jeder für sich einen einzigartigen, eigenwilligen choreografischen Stil.

Das Projekt ist Teil von Kanadas Kulturprogramm als Ehrengast der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020/2021. Es wird unterstützt durch die Botschaft von Kanada, die Vertretung der Regierung von Québec und das Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Künstler*innen
Gespräche

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellungen fanden Gespräche mit den Künstler*innen statt, die wir für alle, die nicht dabei sein konnten aufgezeichnet haben und auf YouTube zum Nachschauen bereit stellen.

Mehr

Louise Lecavalier
“Stations”

7. & 8. Oktober 2020
Carl-Orff-Saal

Die kanadische Tanzikone Louise Lecavalier war zwei Jahrzehnte international gefeierter Star in Edouard Locks Tanzkompanie LaLaLa Human Steps. Mit ihrer beispiellosen Tanztechnik, die ihresgleichen sucht, ist die platinblonde Rebellin aus Montréal eine der brillantesten zeitgenössischen Tänzerinnen der Gegenwart. In ihrer neuesten Arbeit „Stations“ wirft sich Lecavalier wie ein „Gladiator, den es immer wieder aufs Neue in die Arena zieht“, mit Leib und Seele in den Tanz. Mal in sich gekehrt, im nächsten Moment wie besessen, animalisch oder fluide – ihr Körper greift nach immer neuen Zuständen, als seien sie die Nahrung, um zu überleben.

Daniel Léveillé
“Solitudes Solo”

13. & 14. Oktober 2020
Muffathalle

Daniel Léveillé gehört seit vierzig Jahren zu einem der wichtigsten Vertreter der kanadischen Tanzszene. Typisch für seine Arbeiten ist ein radikal körperlicher Minimalismus – Tanz wie mit dem Skalpell in den leeren Raum gezeichnet. „Solitudes Solo“ markiert innerhalb seines Werks einen Wendepunkt: Jede Sequenz erforscht die Kraft der Unterbrechung. Während die Tänzer*innen sich zwischen schwungvollen und präzisen Gesten an den Grenzen des Ungleichgewichts bewegen, zeigen sie zugleich, wie ihr Tanz Immobilität entstehen lässt. Jede/r Tänzer*in verkörpert dabei Momente in einem Leben, das auf Einheit und Schönheit ausgerichtet ist, mit dem Wissen, dass dies nur auf die Gefahr hin erreicht werden kann, dass man stürzt oder zerbricht.

Mélanie Demers
“Icône Pop”

16. & 17. Oktober 2020
Schwere Reiter

Zu welcher/m Heiligen soll man beten? „Icône Pop“ verkörpert die Ambivalenz einer Gesellschaft, die die Orientierung verloren hat und der Selbstverherrlichung huldigt. Mélanie Demers verkörpert in ihrem Solo verschiedene Frauenbilder von gestern bis heute, von der heiligen, selbstaufopfernden Mutter bis zum mächtigen zeitgenössischen Popstar, der an der Schnittstelle zwischen Revolte und Zerfall verehrt wird. Zwischen dem Heiligen und dem Profanen zeichnet Demers ein Porträt fragmentierter weiblicher Identität. Ein spielerischer Zusammenprall zwischen religiösen und Pop-Ikonen von der Jungfrau Maria bis zu Beyoncé.

Daina Ashbee
“Serpentine”

19. & 20. Oktober 2020
HochX

Daina Ashbee thematisiert in ihren Arbeiten immer wieder die Gewalt und Rechtlosigkeit gegenüber indigenen Frauen in Kanada. Ihre Stücke wühlen auf, sind unerschrocken direkt und brutal ehrlich. „Serpentine“ ist eine Zusammenfassung ihrer Stücke „Unrelated“ (2014), „When the ice melts, will we drink the water?“ (2016) und „Pour“ (2016). Als kathartisches Solo der aus Mexiko stammenden Performerin Areli Moran zu einer Originalkomposition für elektrische Orgel von Jean-Francois Blouin erforscht es die Besetzung von Raum, Zeit und Präsenz. Die langsamen, sinnlichen Bewegungen der Performerin werden beharrlich wiederholt. Die Kraft der Wiederholung und Beharrlichkeit erlaubt einem Körper zu sprechen, den Raum zu besetzen, unsere Aufmerksamkeit zu absorbieren – immer und immer wieder.

Van Grimde Corps Secrets
“Eve 2050”

5. & 6. November 2020
Installation 19.00 – 23.00 h
Performance 20.30 h
7. November 2020
Installation 14.00 – 23.00 h
Performance 20.30 & 21.30 h
8. November 2020
Installation 11.00 – 18.00 h
Muffathalle

Wie werden in einer nahen Zukunft die Grenzen des Körpers und seiner Identität neu definiert? Mit ihrer interaktiven digitalen Installation Eve 2050 lädt Isabelle Van Grimde und ihre Kompanie Van Grimde Corps Secrets das Publikum zu einer künstlerischen Reflexion über die Zukunft von Mensch und Körper in einem Zeitalter digitaler Technologie, biomedizinischer Fortschritte und künstlicher Intelligenz ein.

Veranstalter: Muffatwerk im Rahmen von ACCESS TO DANCE

Mehr

Barrierefreiheit

Sofern nicht anders vermerkt, verfügen alle Spielorte über einen rollstuhlgerechten Zugang, d.h. der Eingang ist ebenerdig oder über einen Fahrstuhl erreichbar. Bitte beachten Sie, dass einige Orte des Rahmenprogramms nicht barrierefrei zugänglich sind. 

Carl-Orff-Saal

Im Gasteig
Rosenheimer Straße 5

S-Bahn alle Linien Rosenheimer Platz
Tram 15, 25 Rosenheimer Platz
Tram 17 Am Gasteig

Muffathalle

Zellstraße 4
81667 München

S-Bahn alle Linien Rosenheimer Platz, Isartor
Bus 132 Isartor / Zweibrückenstraße
Tram 17 Isartor, Deutsches Museum
Tram 25 Rosenheimer Platz

Schwere Reiter

Dachauer Straße 114
80636 München

Bus 53 Leonrodplatz
Nachtbus 43, 44 Leonrodplatz
Tram 20, 21 Leonrodplatz

HochX

Entenbachstraße 37
81541 München

U-Bahn U1, U2, U7, U8 Kolumbusplatz
Bus 132 Fraunhoferstraße