And the beat
goes on ...

August 7
starting at 14.00 H
Fluffy Clouds
Entrance free of charge

Program Schedule

 

With „And the beat goes on...“ TANZWERKSTATT EUROPA turns Fluffy Clouds into an artistic-theoretical parcours consisting of performative contributions, lectures, exchange, encounters and the possibility to try out dance and somatic practices yourself! Theoretically and practically, it is about the techné of dance and somatic practices for a good life – an afternoon between performance, participation, lecture, picnic and a lot of fun. The rhythm of the course is set by Roza Moshtaghi’s „Bouncing Narratives“, a performance in public space on a walk-in container that has been converted into a trampoline.

Entrance to all parts of the programme during this afternoon is free, advance registration is not required. The lectures and workshops will be held partly in English, partly in German. No previous dance experience is required for the workshops. If there are any changes to the programme due to the weather, we will inform you in good time here, as well as via our newsletter.

 

Performances

Roza Moshtaghi
„Bouncing Narratives“

14.00, 16.00 & 18.00 H

More

 

Katrin Schafitel
„ZWINK2“

15.00 – 16.00 H

„ZWINK2“ is an object dance in public space: Munich dancer Katrin Schafitel improvises from the moment and deals with the given – spontaneously and directly. Her colourful object costume – designed by Robert Kis – sets its own beat and handling through its materiality. The performer draws on everything she finds and explores her surroundings with full physical commitment. The beauty and poetry of being alive can be experienced through her dance in public space. The charm of a fleeting moment, a smile, a wink in movement and encounter.

 

Joe Moran
“Thirst”

15.40 – 15.50 H

Joe Moran has a wide-ranging practice incorporating theatre and gallery performance works, critical writing, curatorial projects and drawing. His work centres the body and embodied presence as a site of complex subjectivities and political unrest, with queering frequently deployed as its principal critical strategy. In „Thirst“ two performers navigate a complex, shifting terrain of power, submission, complicity and consent. In a single physical act, one moves from lying to standing to lying, mounted by the other who never touches the floor.

 

Louise Vanneste
“Solo”

15.30 – 15.40 H & 17.20 – 17.30 H

After training in classical dance, Louise Vanneste turned to contemporary dance and studied at P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels. A scholarship enabled her to continue her training in New York with the Trisha Brown Dance Company. Louise creates extraordinary perceptual experiences with her choreographies putting dance in dialogue with space, light and sound. She prefers to develop her choreographies in collaboration with artists from different artistic disciplines. For „And the beat goes on ...“ she performs a short solo.

 

Workshops

Yoga
with Esther Balfe

15.00 – 16.00 H

Esther Balfe, a certified yoga teacher, has been a practitioner of yoga for over two decades. Yoga has supported her long dance career, a.o. as a dancer with William Forsythe, facilitating the requisite of working full days in renowned dance companies and rigorous touring schedules all over the world, right up to present day as a teacher, choreographer, and performer.

 

Tai-Chi
with Chiang-Mei Wang

17.00 – 18.00 H

Tai-Chi Dao-Yin feels like a massage from the inside. Taiwanese choreographer and dance instructor Chiang-Mei Wang reveals a new access to the possibilities in your own body. Chiang-Mei Wang was a soloist for 10 years at the Cloud Gate Dance Theatre in Taiwan, Asia‘s leading dance company. During this period, she worked intensively with the Tai-Chi Dao-Yin master Wei Shong in Taiwan and received her teaching certificate in 2002.

 

Lectures

Dr. Peter Lovatt
„The Psychology of Movement: A STEP Approach”

15.00 – 15.30 H

Dr. Peter Lovatt is a Dance Psychologist. He is the author of „The Dance Cure“ (2020) and the co-founder of Movement in Practice. Movement in Practice uses the psychology of movement to enhance people’s relationships, creativity, health and wellbeing. In this short, groovy, session Dr. Lovatt, who has already given keynotes with Barack Obama and Oprah Winfrey, will discuss psychological research which shows how dancing unites people socially, how dancing changes the way people think, how dancing plays a part in our expression of emotions and how dancing is influenced by our hormonal and genetic make-up.

 

Dr. Eike Wittrock
“The Art of Travesty”

17.00 – 17.30 H

Drag is probably the most queer theatrical genre in which the spaces between conventional gender concepts and their associated notions of desire are explored. In his lecture, Dr. Eike Wittrock examines how gender performances on various stages are connected to queer liberation movements and blur the boundaries between everyday gender and stage performances. Wittrock is a dance and theatre scholar and researches the media of dance historiography, queer theatre history and floriography. He is currently a Senior Scientist at the Centre for Gender Research at the University of Arts Graz.

 

Alexandra Baybutt
“Somatics and/in the everyday”

17.30 – 18.00 H

In her lecture-workshop Alexandra Baybutt, a somatic movement educator (registered with ISMETA), a dramaturg and a researcher, introduces some of the concepts and practices from somatic movement education and the Laban/Bartenieff Movement System. Somatic movement methods are regularly used in choreographic and performance practice, but also playfully spill into the everyday to shift perception, increase sensation and expand expression. In a philosophy of practice that is about working with what is already there, rather than feeling like something is lacking, Alexandra will facilitate bringing awareness to movement phenomena and embodying concepts. Come and explore sensing self, gravity, breath and space!

 

Fluffy Clouds

(Sommerbad Georgenschwaige)
Belgradstraße 195
80804 München

U2, U3, U8 Scheidplatz
U3, U8 Petuelring
Tram 12, 27, 28 Scheidplatz
Tram 27 Petuelring
Bus 140, 141,142, 144 Scheidplatz
Bus 142 Rümannstraße

And the beat
goes on ...

7. August
ab 14.00 H
Fluffy Clouds
Eintritt frei

Programmübersicht

 

Mit „And the beat goes on…“ verwandelt die TANZWERKSTATT EUROPA das Fluffy Clouds in einen künstlerisch-theoretischen Erlebnisparcours aus performativen Beiträgen, Lectures, Austausch, Begegnung und der Möglichkeit, Tanz und somatische Praktiken selbst auszuprobieren! Theoretisch und praktisch geht es um die Techné des Tanzes und somatischer Praktiken für ein gutes Leben – ein Nachmittag zwischen Performance, Partizipation, Vortrag, Picknick und einer Menge Spaß. Den Rhythmus des Parcours gibt „Bouncing Narratives“ von Roza Moshtaghi vor, eine Performance im öffentlichen Raum auf einem begehbaren Container, der zu einem Trampolin umgebaut wurde.

Der Eintritt zu allen Programmpunkten an diesem Nachmittag ist frei, eine Vorabanmeldung nicht erforderlich. Die Vorträge und Workshops werden teils auf Englisch, teils auf Deutsch gehalten. Für die beiden Workshops sind keine tänzerischen Vorkenntnisse erforderlich. Man kann an beiden Workshops einfach teilnehmen. Sollte es Programmänderungen aufgrund des Wetters geben, informieren wir rechtzeitig an dieser Stelle, sowie über unseren Newsletter.

 

Performances

Roza Moshtaghi
„Bouncing Narratives“

14.00, 16.00 & 18.00 H

Mehr

 

Katrin Schafitel
„ZWINK2“

15.00 – 16.00 H

„ZWINK2“ ist ein Objekt-Tanz im öffentlichen Raum: Die Münchner Tänzerin Katrin Schafitel improvisiert aus dem Moment heraus und geht mit dem Gegebenen um – spontan und unmittelbar. Ihr buntes Objekt-Kostüm – entworfen von Robert Kis – gibt durch seine Materialität einen eigenen Takt und Umgang vor. Die Performerin schöpft aus all dem, was sie vorfindet und erforscht mit vollem körperlichen Einsatz ihre Umgebung. Schönheit und Poesie des Lebendigseins werden durch ihren Tanz im öffentlichen Raum erfahrbar. Der Charme eines flüchtigen Augenblicks, eines Lächelns, eines Zwinkerns in Bewegung und Begegnung.

 

Joe Moran
“Thirst”

15.40 – 15.50 H

Joe Morans künstlerische Praxis umfasst Theater- und Galerie-Performances, kritisches Schreiben, kuratorische Projekte und Zeichnen. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit stehen der Körper und die verkörperte Präsenz als Ort komplexer Subjektivitäten und politischer Unruhen. Queering setzt Joe dabei häufig als wichtigste kritische Strategie ein. In „Thirst“ bewegen sich zwei Performer auf einem komplexen, sich ständig verändernden Terrain aus Macht, Unterwerfung, Komplizenschaft und Konsens. In einem einzigen physischen Akt bewegt sich der eine vom Liegen zum Stehen und wieder zum Liegen, wobei er von dem anderen, der den Boden nie berührt, getragen wird.

 

Louise Vanneste
“Solo”

15.30 – 15.40 H & 17.20 – 17.30 H

Nach einer Ausbildung in klassischem Tanz wandte sich Louise Vanneste dem zeitgenössischen Tanz zu und studierte bei P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel. Ein Stipendium ermöglichte es ihr, ihre Ausbildung in New York bei der Trisha Brown Dance Company fortzusetzen. Louise schafft mit ihren Choreografien außergewöhnliche Wahrnehmungserlebnisse. Sie setzt den Tanz in Dialog mit dem Raum, Licht und Sound. Dabei entwickelt sie ihre Choreografien bevorzugt in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen künstlerischen Disziplinen. Für „And the beat goes on …“ performt sie ein kurzes Solo.

 

Workshops

Yoga
mit Esther Balfe

15.00 – 16.00 H

Esther Balfe praktiziert seit über 20 Jahren Yoga und ist zertifizierte Yoga-Lehrerin. Yoga war für ihre Tanzkarriere, u.a. als langjährige Forsythe-Tänzerin, eine wichtige Basis und hat es ihr und ihrem Körper ermöglicht, ganztägig in renommierten Tanzkompanien mit intensiven Tourneeplänen auf der ganzen Welt zu arbeiten. Auch heute profitiert sie als Choreografin, Performerin und Dozentin von dieser Praxis.

 

Tai-Chi
mit Chiang-Mei Wang

17.00 – 18.00 H

Tai-Chi Dao-Yin wirkt wie eine Massage von Innen. Die aus Taiwan stammende Choreografin und Tanzlehrerin Chiang-Mei Wang eröffnet einen neuen Zugang zu den Möglichkeiten des eigenen Körpers. Chiang-Mei war 10 Jahr Solistin beim Cloud Gate Dance Theatre in Taiwan, Asiens führender Dance Company. Sie arbeitete während dieser Zeit intensiv mit dem Tai-Chi Dao-Yin Meister Wei Shong in Taiwan und erhielt 2002 ihre Lehrerlaubnis.

 

Lectures

Dr. Peter Lovatt
„The Psychology of Movement: A STEP Approach”

15.00 – 15.30 H

Dr. Peter Lovatt – aka Dr. Dance – ist Tanzpsychologe und Autor von“Tanz Einfach! Wie Rhythmus und Musik uns gesund, glücklich und stark machen” (2020). Er ist Mitbegründer von Movement in Practice. Movement in Practice nutzt die Psychologie der Bewegung, um menschliche Beziehungen, Kreativität, Gesundheit und unser Wohlbefinden zu verbessern. In seiner kurzen und groovigen Session wird Peter, der bereits Keynotes mit Barack Obama und Oprah Winfrey gehalten hat, psychologische Forschungsergebnisse diskutieren, die zeigen, wie das Tanzen Menschen sozial verbindet, wie es die Art und Weise unseres Denkens verändert, wie Tanzen eine Rolle bei unserem Ausdruck von Emotionen spielt und wie es von unserer hormonellen und genetischen Anlage beeinflusst wird.

 

Dr. Eike Wittrock
„Die Kunst der Travestie”

17.00 – 17.30 H

Drag ist wohlmöglich die queereste Theaterform, in der die Spielräume zwischen konventionellen Geschlechtsentwürfen und mit ihnen verbundenen Vorstellungen von Begehrensweisen erprobt werden. Dr. Eike Wittrock untersucht in seinem Vortrag, wie Geschlechtsperformances auf unterschiedlichsten Bühnen mit queeren Befreiungsbewegungen verbunden sind und die Grenzen zwischen geschlechtlichem Alltag und Bühnenperformances verwischen. Wittrock ist Tanz- und Theaterwissenschaftler und forscht zu Medien der Tanzgeschichtsschreibung, queerer Theatergeschichte und Floriographie. Zurzeit ist er Senior Scientist am Zentrum für Genderforschung der Kunstuniversität Graz.

 

Alexandra Baybutt
“Somatics and/in the everyday”

17.30 – 18.00 H

In ihrem Vortrag stellt Alexandra Baybutt, somatische Bewegungspädagogin, Dramaturgin und Wissenschaftlerin aus London, Konzepte und Praktiken aus der somatischen Bewegungserziehung und dem Laban/Bartenieff Movement System vor. Somatische Bewegungsmethoden werden regelmäßig in der choreografischen und performativen Praxis eingesetzt, fließen aber auch spielerisch in den Alltag ein. Sie verändern die Wahrnehmung, steigern das Empfinden und erweitern den Ausdruck. Im Sinne einer praktischen Philosophie, bei der es darum geht, mit dem zu arbeiten, was bereits da ist, anstatt das Gefühl zu haben, dass etwas fehlt, wird Alexandra Bewegungsphänomene unmittelbar bewusst machen und Konzepte am Körper demonstrieren. Bei diesem Vortrag kann man das Selbst, die Schwerkraft, den Atem und den Raum spüren!

 

Fluffy Clouds

(Sommerbad Georgenschwaige)
Belgradstraße 195
80804 München

U2, U3, U8 Scheidplatz
U3, U8 Petuelring
Tram 12, 27, 28 Scheidplatz
Tram 27 Petuelring
Bus 140, 141,142, 144 Scheidplatz
Bus 142 Rümannstraße